The Heathenry 50 Challenge

Blog component to Gifts of the Wyrd

As I pass the two-year anniversary of the Gifts of the Wyrd podcast, I am very grateful for the wonderful from all who listen join me on the podcast.  It is indeed an honor and joy to be able to have such a wonderful way and opportunity to share our gnosis and experience with our practices and relationships to the Gods, Ancestors, Wights, and other Beings.

What I intend to do is to join the #Heathenry50 to start the process and get into a habit of writing pieces on a regular basis.  These are just my experiences in my practice. They may resonate with the experiences of others, the will not with everyone. That’s ok.  That is what vibrant, living relationships with our Gods, Ancestors, local nature wights, and people around us are all about.

What is the Heathenry 50 Challenge?

That is a good question! It can mean many things but it is a writing project begun by an Anglo-Saxon Druid. The challenge is to write 50 blog posts, one a week for a year. The challenge has 50 topics lined up as a starting point for thoughts, studies, gnosis and experiences about the subject.

I saw him post something about it, likely on a common Facebook group, and decided to join him and use this as the impetus to expanding the content and adding a writing component of inclusive, modern Heathen practices and topics.

I want to thank Matty for announcing the project and inviting other heathens to take part. His blog site is at Meade and Mistletoe where you can read more about why he started the challenge and what he is learning. To share on social media, we will be using the hashtag #Heathenry50.

Why Heathenry 50?

For me, this seemed like a challenge that I would have a difficult time to defend not taking up.  With the interest in doing some writing as a blog, this provided me with 50 topics out the gate. And I can do it along with at least one other person.

I write and edit for my day job, so sometimes the last thing I want to do is add more writing to the day. This gives me a head start on what to write about. Now I just need to compile my thoughts about the topic and how I implement ritual, meditation, magic, and other practices. This will assuredly give me reason to read more books (something I love to do).

There are some really good topics coming up and I look forward to exploring them, exploring how and why they are a part of my practice and learning some new things. Not only in my own research, but in the reading of blog posts after I write mine.

The biggest challenge? Being consistent with a weekly write-up.  But I will do my best to make it happen.

Gratitudes

Thank you, readers and listeners of the podcast. We are in the 21st century on a journey together. We are long separated from a continuous practice and have a heavy background and societal influence from a dominating religion that suppressed relationships and interaction with the Gods and Goddesses of many cultures for a long time.  As Heimdallr’s children awaken to the calling of the Northern Gods (or Others) we restore those relationships to humanity while building a ritual and relational practices that work for us today.

I have been encouraged by many people and thank them all for their many ways of getting me out of my headspace and into action. Among them are two who came into my circle via Facebook. Tonya Threet and Connla Freyason.  Tonya’s album Võluspá has really brought that piece alive for me in a great way. Connla, from Iaconography, has become a really great friend – even though we have yet to meet in person.  He has reminded me not to be too hard on myself and to not listen to the negative feedback that likes to crop in and demoralize our efforts.

Connla’s artwork and upcoming book, Norse Witch, are great connections from the past to the modern spirit.

I am grateful to my mother for teaching me to be kind, giving, fair, and open minded.  And I thank my soon-to-be husband for his constant support and love.  He is a grounding influence that helps keep this airy Aquarian from bouncing like a ping pong ball on a concrete surface.

Let’s Get Started….

And with that, I end the introduction to the challenge and will get started on the first topic and get it posted soon.

Published by

John Hijatt

I am a Devotee of Freya and the Vanir in a modern age pursuing a spiritual life and sharing experiences as an inclusive Germanic Paganism spiritual path. Explore the connection with the gods and beings of the web of Wyrd as we create our path today inspired by what we can learn from our ancestors. I am a Vitki, Gothi, and Runester (I work with runes). I do not support the use of Germanic (or any) spirituality for the promotion of racism or bigotry. If you support racism or bigotry - we do not have compatible ideologies. Find my podcast where I speak with others on this inclusive path at giftsofthewyrd.podbean.com, Apple & Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, or other podcast providers.

Leave a comment